top of page
hardwickisourhome

Op-Ed: What is it Really Like Living by a Horse Racetrack?


I am not a resident of Hardwick, but I have been following this vote closely, as this vote is going to drastically change your town and, in my opinion, not for the better.


I live just outside of Saratoga Springs, NY – often known for its own horse track. I have lived in this area for over 8 years and I have been to the race track once. I have four children, all who we love to bring to family fun activities, but we have a rule to stay very clear of Saratoga in the summer months during track season.


Race tracks bring in visitors who do not live here; a lot of the patrons get intoxicated, unruly, and treat the town unkindly. People are impolite and crime is terrible. Most folks have Ring cameras surrounding their homes to help assist the Police in locating perpetrators...


Unfortunately when they are from out of town, these people go unrecognized and never get caught. With the traffic, trash, DUIs, car thefts, robberies, etc, we would never choose this to happen to any other town, especially one as cherished and loved as Hardwick. If you haven't experienced a race day, it starts before the sun comes up and ends when the bars close – please feel free to come to Saratoga this summer to watch the circus. One thing I can guarantee is that you won't see me or my family there. I wish you all in Hardwick the very best.


Always cherish the rarities in life as they become increasingly rare if you don't.



Trainer Chad Brown was arrested in Saratoga Springs and charged with criminal obstruction of breathing



Here are some articles about the crimes surrounding the racetrack and the people who come there or work there:





Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Fred Debros
Fred Debros
Dec 31, 2022

urgh. if this becomes reality here, we are out of it!

i pride myself of being called the janitor of the proposed racetrack frontage, upper church st. as such i get the honor of picking used condoms and nips every day, pick up fallen branches and stones that roll off the stonewall, mow some parts but mostly meet people from all over who universally admire the surroundings for its pristine aspect: small traffic, no wires, scenic views...i also occasionally meet the 4 cranes who consider the racetrack their salon and the half dozen bears who have their dens nearby..... and cubs. i have never locked my house, and lost only one crowbar and a shovel to thieves.

and i am…


Like
bottom of page